In collaboration with M!KEDROPSPORTS

Walk-Ons Independence Bowl

Duke Blue Devils (7-5) vs Temple Owls (8-4)

Date: Thursday December 27 at 1:30 ET

Location: Independence Stadium in Shreveport, Louisiana

History of the Bowl

Originated: 1976

History of Conferences: SEC 14-4, ACC 5-5

Last year’s result: Florida State beat Southern Miss, 42-13

Duke bowl history

Duke has appeared in 13 bowl games in school history and they are 5-8. The Blue Devils dominated the college football scene in the 1940s and ‘50s – they made two Rose Bowls, two Orange Bowls, and one Sugar Bowl. However, between 1961 and 1989 there were zero bowl appearances. David Cutcliffe took over Duke in 2008 and has led Duke to six bowl games (including this one). The Blue Devils have won the last two, beating Indiana in the 2015 Pinstripe Bowl and Northern Illinois in the 2017 Quick Lane Bowl. The 2015 Pinstripe Bowl win snapped a five bowl losing streak, with the most recent loss coming in the 2014 Sun Bowl.

Temple bowl history

Temple had made seven bowl appearances, with all seven being coached by someone different. 2018 will be the first time they have been led by the same head coach in multiple bowls, but it won’t be the guy whose been their head coach the last two years.

Geoff Collins led Temple to a Gasparilla Bowl win in 2017, but recently departed to take the Georgia Tech coaching job and will not coach the bowl. Ed Foley will serve as interim head coach for the second time. In 2016 Foley coached Temple in a Military Bowl loss, following the departure of Matt Rhule, who coached one bowl game in 2015. That was four years after Steve Addazio’s one bowl game in 2011, after here placed Al Golden, who lost to UCLA in 2009.

Latest From FPC on SportsCastr

Prior to 2009, Temple’s bowl history includes the 1934 Sugar Bowl and 1979 Garden State Bowl.

Series history

The Independence Bowl will be the first all-time meeting between these schools.

Game Notes

Players to watch

Duke: Daniel Jones, QB

Temple: Ryquell Armstead, RB


Duke finished 7-5, winning seven or more games for the fifth time in six years. Before 2013’s breakthrough season, when Duke went 10-4, you would have to go back to 1994 to find another seven-plus win season (8-4). They also won eight in 1989 and seven in 1989. Then, you have to go back to 1962 to find another eight-win season. 


Temple finished 8-4 losing just once in AAC play, on the road to UCF. Owls started 0-2 with losses to FCS Villanova and Buffalo. However, they then beat Maryland and lost to Boston College. Temple will be playing in their 4th straight bowl game as well as just the sixth in school history. They haven’t had a losing season since 2013.

Final Analysis

No matter who Temple’s coach has been over the past four years, one thing has remained consistent – they are well coached, play hard, tough defensive-minded team, who won’t be easy to beat. Certainly, Duke is also extremely well coached. The winner of this Independence Bowl is really going to have to earn it. 

For more college football talk, you can follow me at M!KEDROPSPORTS, on twitter @msschneid or instagram @mikedropsports

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.