Last night at the NFL Honors, the night filled the Chiefs organization with pride and excitement. Three former Kansas City players were announced for the 2019 NFL Hall of Fame Class. And once again, their star quarterback made history this season. Let’s recap all of these Chief Honors.


First of all, Patrick Mahomes was announced as the Offensive Player of the Year. More impressively, he won the 2018 MVP award in his first season as the starter. Mahomes became the youngest player (23 years old) to win the MVP award in the Super Bowl era. Furthermore, Mahomes is the first Chief to ever win the MVP award.

This season, Mahomes put the Chiefs in position to win or to try to comeback every week. From his play and leadership, the Chiefs broke record after record on offense. Kansas City also won their first home playoff game in a quarter of a century and hosted their first conference championship game at Arrowhead Stadium.

Mahomes threw for 5,097 yards, 50 touchdown passes, just 12 interceptions and had a quarterback rating of 113.8. Mahomes became just the third quarterback to throw for 50 touchdowns. To think that this franchise now has a QB who won MVP at just 23 years old is astounding.

Latest Chiefs News

Heading to Canton

The Chiefs had three former players that were announced for the 2019 NFL Hall of Fame Class. As a result, Kansas City may very well play in this year’s Hall of Fame game.

Johnny Robinson

Robinson was actually drafted by the Dallas Texans in 1960, before the team relocated to Kansas City and became the Chiefs. He enjoyed a dominant career as a safety. Robinson finished as a seven-time first-team All-AFL/All-Pro and three-time second-team All-AFL/All-Pro. In twelve seasons, he recorded 57 interceptions. Robinson was part of the Chiefs teams that played in Super Bowl I and Super Bowl IV. Most noteworthy was that Robinson had a fumble recovery and an interception in that Super Bowl IV Win.

Tony Gonzalez

Gonzalez is one of the best tight ends to have ever played in the NFL. The Chiefs traded up to 13th overall to draft him 1997. He started out fast by being named to the NFL All-Rookie team in 1997. With the Chiefs, he recorded 10,940 receiving yards, 76 career receiving touchdowns, most receptions in a season (102 in 2007), and most career seasons with 1,000 receiving yards. These are all Chiefs franchise records.

After twelve seasons with the Chiefs, Gonzalez would play his final five seasons with the Atlanta Falcons. With Atlanta, he never missed a game and put up monstrous numbers. Gonzalez finished with a combined 409 receptions, 4,187 receiving yards and 35 touchdowns while wearing a Falcons uniform.

Gonzalez finished his career as a fourteen-time Pro Bowler, six-time first team All-Pro, four-time second-team All-Pro, and he was also named to the 2000s All-Decade team.

Ty Law

Law will not be remembered primarily as a Chief. However, his time in Kansas City was well spent. In two seasons with the Chiefs, Law did not miss a single game. He recorded six interceptions, three forced fumbles as he enjoyed playing with one of his prior coaches, Herm Edwards, in Kansas City.

Law enjoyed three Super Bowl championships in his career, all with the Patriots. Similarly to Gonzalez, Law is a member of the 2000s All-Decade team. He finished with five Pro Bowls, two first-team All-Pro and Law also led the NFL in interceptions in two separate seasons.

Thank you for reading about these Chief Honors. Be sure to check out Full Press Coverage daily for NFL news.


– Braden Holecek is a Kansas City Chiefs writer for Full Press Coverage. He covers the NFL. Like and follow on and Facebook.

– Kyle Senra is the editor for the Kansas City Chiefs on Full Press Coverage. Like and follow on and Facebook.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.