Former Miami Dolphins linebacker Zach Thomas is officially named a 2020 Hall of Fame finalist. Thomas, the seven-time Pro Bowler and five-time All-Pro selection joins 14 other finalists hoping for an entry.

Breakdown of Annual HOF Class Structure

The NFL will select its five inductees from that list of finalists the Saturday before the Super Bowl (Feb. 1). Those five players will join 15 other members to complete the 2020 class: 10 seniors, players that have been retired more than 25 years, three contributors to the league (individual other than a player or coach) and two coaches.

Thomas’ Numbers Stand Alone

Thomas played 12 years with Miami (1996-2007) before spending his final season in Dallas (2008). In his career, he had four defensive touchdowns, including one in his rookie season, along with 17 interceptions for 170 INT yards. Additionally, he had 48 passes defensed, 16 forced fumbles (eight recovered) and 20.5 sacks. He also adds 1,107 solo tackles out of his combined 1,734, 74 tackles for loss and five quarterback hits.

Finalists Alongside Thomas

Bryant Young, defensive tackle, (1994-2007, San Francisco 49ers)

Richard Seymour, defensive end/defensive tackle, (2001-08 New England Patriots, 2009-12 Oakland Raiders)

Sam Mills, linebacker, (1986-94 New Orleans Saints, 1995-97 Carolina Panthers)

John Lynch, free safety,(1993-2003 Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2004-07 Denver Broncos)

Edgerrin James, running back, (1999-2005 Indianapolis Colts, 2006-08 Arizona Cardinals, 2009 Seattle Seahawks)

Steve Hutchinson, guard, (2001-05 Seattle Seahawks, 2006-2011 Minnesota Vikings, 2012 Tennessee Titans

Torry Holt, wide receiver, (1999-2008 St. Louis Rams, 2009 Jacksonville Jaguars)

Alan Faneca, guard, (1998-2007 Pittsburgh Steelers, 2008-09 New York Jets, 2010 Arizona Cardinals

LeRoy Butler, safety, (1990-2001 Green Bay Packers)

Isaac Bruce, wide receiver, (1994-2007 Los Angeles/St. Louis Rams, 2008-09 San Francisco 49ers)

Tony Boselli, tackle, (1995-2001 Jacksonville Jaguars, 2002 Houston Texans

Steve Atwater, safety, (1989-98 Denver Broncos, 1999 New York Jets)

Reggie Wayne, wide receiver, (2001-14 Indianapolis Colts, first year of eligibility)

Troy Polamalu, safety, (2003-14 Pittsburgh Steelers, first year of eligibility)

This is the first year Thomas has been named a finalist for the HOF, as his run in previous years stopped at the semi-final stage. Although the Dolphins did not make the postseason this year, many Miami fans will be tuned in Super Bowl weekend to see if their beloved player finally makes it into Canton, Ohio. 

– Kayla Morton is the Managing Editor for Full Press Coverage Miami Dolphins. Like and follow on and Facebook.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.